Why I didn’t vote

I made a hard choice yesterday. Should I vote? Or stay home and work on my homework? This decision was something I’ve kind of been putting off. This election has been on my mind long before the commercials started.

Over the last couple of years, as I come to terms with my own feelings, I’ve looked at where the Republican Party has been going. Yes, I’ve been a life long Republican. Some of my friends might find that hard to believe. It seems that over the last couple of years, the Republican Party has been veering toward the crazy. As the social conservatives (Religious Right) made inroads, I started backing out of the “Big Tent”. Overtly religious people scare me. But, over the last year, the rise of the so called “Tea Party” have made my skin crawl more than usual.

So, where do my opinions split with the modern Republican Party? Well, I think it mostly comes down  to that fact that I don’t believe homosexuality is a choice. Only as much as it was a choice for heterosexual people to be attracted to the opposite gender.

Also, the modern day fiscal conservative is nowhere to be seen. The last Bush Administration didn’t see a piece of pork legislation they didn’t like. And the debates I’ve watched leading up to yesterday don’t prove me wrong. The candidates only came close to talking about fiscal issues when talking about the forthcoming health care law. But, when you hear them talk about that, it seems that they take that very personal. For some reason.

Today, I am officially an independent voter. When asked, I describe myself as a fiscal conservative and a social (small “l”) libertarian. I remember a conversation I had with a friend. She said that both she and I are similar in our beliefs. She’s a fiscal conservative too. But, it’s the social issues that she sees as more important. And that’s why she votes Democrat. That conversation has been weighing on me. Do I see fiscal issues as more important? Should the rights of GLBT people be more important to me at this time in my life? I’m not ready to say that they are. Mainly because that means it’ ok to vote for a Democrat. I’m not there quite yet. The idea of voting for a Democrat makes me want to empty the contents of my stomach.

So, I stayed home yesterday. It was a very productive day. But, by the time the polls closed, I was feeling ill and pissed at myself. This was the first election since I became eligible to vote that I have missed. And unless things change, it won’t be the last one I miss.

Oh, and this video didn’t help in getting me out to the polls: watch?v=Q46By22r1Ls

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in NotAboutFamily, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I didn’t vote

  1. Tracy says:

    I suspect you were much more thoughtful about not voting than many people were about voting.

    I was raised by fiscal conservative Republican parents (which, yeah, I can stomach a lot more than the religious types), but I’ve always been a Democrat, because to me, the social issues are more important than money. My dad always said that’ll change and I’ll get more conservative as I get older, but I’m finding the opposite to be true and I’m more of a hippie liberal than ever. Peace and love, yo.

Leave a Reply

