Reactions to throwing it out there.

Considering I didn’t post the link to my last post to Twitter or Facebook, I was actually surprised that anyone responded at all. I received two. One email. And one text message.

I’ve been incredibly hurt after revealing this certain thing. So, I tried to be as low key as possible. The one email I received was from a twitter friend who I have met in person. I see him at just about every Ignite Boulder. Without revealing his name, the text of his email is below:

I don’t know what sort of feedback you’ve gotten from your recent blog post. Hopefully nothing negative, but we both know that’s unlikely to last, if it’s held this long.

Either way, I wanted to let you know that I’m still here and I support you.

If at any point it doesn’t seem like I’m being as supportive as I can, I would like you two know two things:
1. I would like to be MORE supportive.
2. I’ve never been through what you’re going through, so your guidance would be beneficial.

So let me know how I can be here for you, my friend.

I’ll start with … treating you no different than I did before. You were a good person. You still are. 🙂

His email kind of stunned me. I wasn’t expecting bad words from him. That’s not who he is. I guess I’m just surprised how supportive he is willing to be. It took about 48 hours to find the words to thank him.

I didn’t write about it to get responses. I did it because I had too. And I’m glad I did. It’s been a part of my life for so long, I forgot how much of a weight it’s been on me. After posting it, I spent the next two days in a really good mood. It felt good to know that I made the right decision.

Now, don’t expect that I’ll be posting Youtube videos about this anytime soon. I still value my privacy. But, if this blog can help anyone who is struggling with Gender Dysphoria, then it will be worth it. I remember what it was like when I found blogs from people like me. It was like a revelation. It felt good to know I wasn’t alone.

And I don’t intend on writing only about this. I will when I want too. But, this is me. I’m not a one dimensional person. I tried to segregate my life into two separate blogs. It was too stressful. And too hard. There may be posts your not comfortable reading. What can I say? If that’s the case, turn it off. Close your browser. Do something else. Go outside. But, don’t worry. I don’t write about sexual stuff. That’s not me. When I do write, it’s usually something I’ve been mulling over for the last couple of days. I try to be as thoughtful as I can be.

Thank you.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Gender Stuff, NotAboutFamily, Social Anxiety, Transgender and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

