How I’ve been spending my days off

I work part time in a pizza restaurant. Every other week I have been working 4 days. Then, because of a coworkers child custody agreement, I work every other Tuesday. Next week that changes. I’ll be working 4 days a week. This week will probably be the last week I have three days off in a row.

Since school starts again next week, I’ve been getting ready for that. I’ve known my schedule for some time. But, one class was cancelled. So, I had to add a fourth class as an online class. I’ll be taking 14 units this semester. So, I’ll be pretty busy. I’ve been getting my books, locating my classes (good idea for the social anxiety prone), and fixing an issue with my financial aid.

Of probably bigger concern, I’ve been trying to find a place to live. Every day since I found out, I’ve been scouring Craigslist. Every afternoon I send out about 10 emails to people who are listing rooms available. It wasn’t until I was about 5 days into it, that I came up with a template that I could just copy and paste into an email. Basically, it just explains who I am. That I’m in school. That I don’t do drugs. That sort of thing.

So far, I’ve had coffee with 3 athletes from a local school who are looking for a roommate. And I’ve taken a tour of an old Victorian in the Capital Hill neighborhood where a nice woman is renting out a room in an attic like two room unit.

I have a meeting with three hippies (that’s the impression I’m getting) on Saturday. And just finished getting in touch with someone who is renting a room closer to the Denver Tech Center. The DTC, as it’s called, is south of the downtown area. But, he says it’s very close to the light rail.

I’m hoping to get this all wrapped up as soon as this weekend. The athletes told me they would let me know by the end of this week. And the hippies sound like I’m the only one they are considering. We’ll see. I was kind of hoping to have more possibilities. But, some people don’t email back. I’m sure I’m not the only candidate for these rooms. Some people do write back, though. Which I appreciate. Even to explain that there are 8 people in front of me. But, if by chance that they don’t work out they’ll give me a call. I’m not going to be holding my breathe.

I spent a grand total of 5 minutes at the Victorian House yesterday before she had someone else looking. I’m a little unsure of her place. It is secure. You have to buzz to get in. But, I fear for my bike. There is a place to lock it up. But, she warned me that there have been bikes stolen from there before. And she also warned me that it will be impossible to bring any large furniture up her stairs. The stairway was very narrow. So, no box spring. And no chair that I just acquired from my parents. Which is too bad. The room is large enough for it.

I don’t plan on being too picky. Any place is better than sleeping outside in the snow.

Oh, and in about 3 hours, I’ll be trying to do something I’ve found impossible to do for the last year. I don’t want to say what is just yet. I’ll write about it tomorrow. Success or failure, I will write about it. Wish me luck.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Bike, Bike commuting, NotAboutFamily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

