Reinventing the Girl

I’m trying to withhold judgement. I love the original movies. And firmly believe the success of the Swedish versions was due in large part to actress Noomi Rapace. But, I have do respect Fincher as a director. And both Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig are excellent actors. But, the cover at W magazine made me cringe a little bit.

Here’s the story: http://lat.ms/gcg7Jl

Once something has been done so well, it’s hard to re-imagine it successfully. But, I will concede that if it means bringing the story to a wider audience, an audience that doesn’t like subtitles, then if it’s done well, I think it should be done.

Sidenote: There were rumors last year that Ellen Page was being considered for the role of Salander. Following the disasterous Cisco ad campaign featuring Page, I can’t believe I ever thought that was a good idea.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Movies, NotAboutFamily and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

