Books

I’m reading a book. Every chance I get. I’m reading this book. Mostly on the bus. But, I am reading.

I’ve always thought of myself as someone who likes to read. But, when I recently started thinking about what I’ve read, I was a little disappointed. I have this stack of books at my parents house. Biographies, autobiographies and books about historical events. Not a single work of fiction.

I can’t remember the last work of fiction I have read.

In fact, I don’t even remember reading anything in high school. Not one book. Not even as an assignment. I even graduated from high school. But, I don’t think I’ve even read books you would think would be assigned reading. Granted, I didn’t take any literature classes, that I can remember. But, it wasn’t like I was in shop class all day.

I’m sure I must have taken an english class at some point. But, I can’t tell you if I ever had been assigned a book to read.

And when I think about all the classic books that I think kids read, I can tell you that I don’t think I’ve ever read it. That makes me sad.

So, I’m doing something about it. Less nonfiction. More fiction.

A short list of books I would like to read:

Tom Sawyer
Huckleberry Finn
Fahrenheit 451
Uncle Tom’s Cabin
The Catcher in the Rye
The Grapes of Wrath
Moby Dick
1984
To Kill a Mockingbird
A Tale of Two Cities
The Scarlett Letter
The Old Man and the Sea

What am I reading now? It’s a book called Annabel by Kathleen Winter.

It’s an interesting story. It’s about a baby born in Labrador, Canada. An inter-sexed baby. It’s an extremely well written novel. In just over a week, I’ve read 190 pages. Just be forwarned. I don’t especially like the cover. Just go over to Amazon and check it out. You’ll probably understand when you see it. If you can get past the young man on the cover without a shirt, it’s a very good read. At least so far.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

