I Got the #$%&~+ Bike Flat Blues

I’m sitting here at the store at 2am waiting for a cab. I only got two blocks away before the front tire gave out. It’s been 3 days since it was last fixed. 3 days! 3 days!

I spent a lot of money for this bike. And I made a huge commitment to this plan. I didn’t ask for much. I just want the AIR TO STAY IN THE FUCKING TUBE!

In the nearly six months I’ve owned this bike, I have replaced tubes in this bike nearly 30 times. Just last week, I had two huge blow outs in 2 miles.

I’ve done more than I ever expected to make sure the air stayed in.

thorn proof tubes

Slime tubes

Tire liners

Knobby tires

Heavy duty rim tape

The only thing I haven’t done is buy new wheels. And don’t think that hasn’t crossed my mind. But, why should I have to do that? Why?

Look. I understand that getting flat tires is a fact of life. But, 30 flats in less than six months? You’d think I’m riding in streets of glass and goat heads swimming up to my knees.

This devil Cannondale is due to go into the shop at REI for a tune up soon. A complimentary one, thank goodness. Will this be something I bring up? Hell yes.

I can’t believe I’m waiting for a fucking cab to go home. But, if I walk the 8 miles I’ll get home when the sun comes up. It’s 4 miles to REI. Maybe I could get breakfast and camp out by the front door.

Or maybe I could throw this Cannondale in the garbage.

Actually, it’s probably a good idea that I’m not riding home tonight. I’ve been coughing all night. It feels like I’m getting sick.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Bike, Bike commuting, Cannondale, NotAboutFamily, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Got the #$%&~+ Bike Flat Blues

  1. chrisbrown says:

    That is incredibly sucky! The only thing you didn’t mention was your PSIs. If you’re over- or under-inflating them, that could be a factor.

    If you go to REI and they can’t suggest anything, then Salvagetti is really close by and I’d suggest chatting them up as well to see if they have any ideas.

    Hope you get it taken care of and then get out there on the road!

Leave a Reply

