Being Sick

I’ve been sick for the last couple of days. In fact, I’m still a little sick. It was mostly congestion in my throat and a fever.

I so rarely get sick, that I was completely unprepared. I didn’t have any medication on hand to take. And since I don’t have a car, I wasn’t up to getting on a bus to grab some NyQuil or even ibuprofen. I eventually got some ibuprofen from my roommates. I think I’m going to pick something up tonight. I’m still a bit congested. But, feeling better since I got something in my stomach.

I hate being cooped up at home. I always leave the house when I’m sick. I remember years ago, I left the house while sick. I ended up getting a speeding ticket. I tell myself nothing will end well if I leave the house. And I’ll just end up prolonging my illness. But, I can’t stand staying at home.

Yesterday, I was so floored, that I had no choice. I could barely get out of bed. When I did, it was to go to the bathroom, too take a shower to warm up, and put more clothes on. I remember last night before I fell asleep, I had my pajamas on, two sweatshirts, a hoodie, sweat pants, two pairs of socks, slippers, and a cap I wear in cold weather when I ride my bike. And that was on top of the 4 blankets I had on the bed. I even had my feet snuggled up under Murray the Cat’s warm body at the foot of the bed.

Today, I was mostly just out of energy. I stayed home from school. But, didn’t call into work. I told myself that I needed to go to work. Which I do. But, I’m no good even there if I’m still sick. It’s hard to tell how sick you are when you haven’t had anything to eat in 30 hours. Now that I’ve had a meal, I feel much better. I have much more energy. And I’ve had to blow my nose multiple times. So, that’s a good thing. My throat is still sore. So, I’ve picked up some throat lozenges.

I don’t have work or school tomorrow. So, I’m planning on taking some NyQuil tonight before bed and sleeping in.

And I’m not riding my bike. Nope. Not going to push it. I’m riding the bus back and forth.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

