Staying warm

If you haven’t noticed, winter has finally arrived. Not only in Colorado. But, also across the nation. This is one massive storm. As I type this, it’s -2F here in Denver.

Thankfully and regrettably, I don’t have to use my bike and bus over these cold days. I just happened to be at my parent’s house on Sunday doing laundry. The washing machine at the current place broke down and won’t be replaced until Thursday. I was there late and my mom didn’t feel like taking me home by the time everything was done. We knew a storm was coming. But, I chose to accept the offer to stay overnight anyway. We woke up to an ice storm. My mom feared that she would slide across the road into oncoming traffic. It didn’t help that she heard from my sister that her husband urged her not to drive. So, she offered me the use of her car. She said if she went out in the snow, it would be too stressful and she would end up with a headache.

I appreciate that she let me use her car for the next few days. I’m still getting over this flu. And even if I took the bus, I’d still be out in the cold longer than if I had a car. The afternoon rush hour commute doesn’t bother me as much as the late night commute home. I usually take my bike to work all the time. The store closes at midnight during the week. And the last bus leaves across the street at 12:45am. I have the bike just in case I miss that bus. I do my best not to miss it. But, I could. So, riding my bike beats walking 8.6 miles. It’s definitely less stressful having the car.

Having a car at my disposal is not a completely rosy picture, though. When I had a car last year, I recognized that owning a car became a huge crutch for my social anxiety. It’s soooooo easy to just sit in a parked car, instead of confronting the world. I hate that I do it. But, it’s so easy. I’ve been on a bike so long now, I’ve forgotten how bad it gets. This is not the first time since I sold the car that I’ve had the use of a car. But, it’s the first time I have had it for more than a couple of days. Sure, I have a couple of crutches to handle my social anxiety without the car. I regularly wear headphones while I’m out and about. And I read a book on the bus. But, it’s not really the same thing. The car is like my own little cocoon. And if I have the laptop with me, I don’t really have to leave.

I had to go to class today. After not attending last week because I was sick, I had to convince myself that I had not fallen too far behind. And when I went to the VA Hospital, I sat in the warm car for a good 30 minutes before I had the courage to go track down the name of my former counselor. I had forgotten her name. And since she does her own scheduling, I needed to go to the main office to get that info. I need to talk to someone and renew prescription to Zoloft.

Today wasn’t a total failure, though. I did have a first. I can now check off hot chocolate from my food bucket list. That’s right. I’ve never had hot chocolate. I was at a gas station filling up mom’s car. I’ve been mulling over trying hot chocolate for awhile now. I don’t know why I’ve never had hot chocolate.

I don’t drink coffee. I’ve only had coffee straight. So, I don’t know if I would like it if I put something in it. But, I thought I might try hot chocolate to see.

How was it? It was like drinking a melted chocolate bar. Which was kinda weird. I’m not really a candy type of person. I don’t like sweets. But, it was better than coffee. I could sip on it to try to stay warm in the future. But, I shouldn’t drink it until it cools down a little bit. I think I burned my tongue.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

