Reveille! Reveille!

When I was in the Navy, a whistle would blow every morning at 6:00am over the announcing system. I don’t remember the whole spiel they said. But, unless you were a sound sleeper, there was no way you would sleep through it. Most guys had alarm clocks. I had two. Just in case. Most of us would be awake before hand. It’s hard to sleep with people in close quarters around you moving around. Well, I now have a new wake up call.

I moved into my new place on Saturday. When I looked at the house on the Thursday before, I told my then potential housemate that I worked late at night. I told him I got home at 2AM at the latest 4 nights a week. He seemed ok with it. He asked me when I woke up in the morning. I told him 10am. After that the conversation moved onto other subjects.

When I was busy unpacking on Saturday afternoon, he told me that he “sometimes” would give the dog a little bit of exercise on cold days when the dog really couldn’t go outside. He then asked me to close my door and he would demonstrate. I closed the door and he got out a laser. The dog then chased the laser up and down the hall about 8 times, barking each time it reached my bedroom door. *Note: My bedroom door is at the end of the hall.

Now, he did say sometimes. And didn’t say it would be everyday. I went off to work at about 5pm that night. And got home at about 1:30am. I sneaked past his bedroom door, slipped off my clothes, cleaned up and settled into bed. Sunday mornings are my only day off from both school and work. And I usually sleep in a little bit. Well, that’s never going to happen again.

I awoke to a startle at 10:13am. *Bark* *Bark* followed by the thunder of feet heading away from me. Usually, I’m pretty groggy when I wake up. I’m not a morning person. But, needless to say, the sound of a loud barking dog at my door made sure I was wide awake.

What did I do? Well, I could have confronted him about it. But, I had a hard enough time finding this place. So, I chose to ignore it. I actually laughed about it at first. It’s the only problem I’ve had so far. He’s done it EVERYDAY. I agreed to a six month lease, which I could easily and legally break since I didn’t agree to this wake up call. But, right then and there, I decided to move out at the end of the six months.

What I may end up doing is asking him not to do it on Sundays.

Everday, I make small steps in getting my life back. I think this may be the impetus to keep me on track.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in NotAboutFamily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

