Riding the Platte

There is a bike/walking path along the Platte River in downtown Denver. Up until Wednesday, I had never been down there. I say “down there”, because it’s about 10 feet below street level. It’s all open above, except where bridges go over it. The first thing I think about when someone mentions that area are the homeless people that hang out there. it’s really not as bad as people make it out to be.

I had some time Wednesday afternoon, so I fired up RunKeeper Pro on my phone and some tunes, and descended into the path. I started at Confluence Park and headed south east. I ended up riding about 4miles. I took it all the way to where it ends near the Denver Country Club. I still felt like riding, so I went down to the Cherry Creek mall. I had lunch there. Then headed back. It was nice. It’s almost completely flat. There are markers at various spots in the concrete that ask you to stay to the right to make it easier to navigate. I can see why so many people ride and run it. I can see myself working out there more often.

BTW, I’m getting more used to having drop down handlebars. My Cannondale that was stolen had flat bars. I had been thinking about getting flat bars, but after seeing some in real life, I’m having doubts. So, since I’m getting used to these, I think I’ll stay with what I got.

*And yes, I did ride back. But, since it was insanely cold when the sun went down, I decided to take the bus home. My hands were in so much pain after riding through downtown, I felt like I didn’t have a choice.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

