Scales

Ah, the dreaded bathroom scale. I own one. But, up until yesterday, I wasn’t sure where it was. After I split up with the girlfriend several years ago, some of my stuff ended up in my Grandparent’s basement. Some other stuff has been in my parents basement. While I struggled with self acceptance and dealt with understanding my social anxiety, I really just left all that stuff sit in boxes. Now, that I’m in a different place, I’m trying to sort through stuff. It’s a slow, but rewarding process.

What I’ve missed lately is not knowing if I’m losing weight. I can tell a little bit in the mirror. But, not having a number to look at, is hard to gauge how it’s going. My old roommates had a scale already in the bathroom that we shared. And it made me feel good to know that I had gone from 230lbs to 205 in the 11 months that I was there. I had a feeling though, that I had gained in the couple of months since I moved.

After my long bike ride up to my parents house on Sunday, I decided to accept an invitation to stay the night. Since I am on Spring break from school, I could go through at least one box the next day. Which I did early the next morning.

I found my scale. Which, I immediately took into the bathroom. I closed and locked the door. Then took all of my clothes off and stepped on.

Sigh.

I have gained. I am currently sitting at 214lbs.

I want to get down to 175lbs.

I know what I need to do.

Somehow, I need to find the strength to quit the soda.

If I could get this far, I know I can do it. No doubt, it’s going to be hard. When I think about it, I compare it to smoking. I’ve never smoked before. But, I have tried to help someone quit. It was the hardest thing she had ever done. And she failed. I’ve cut down to 64oz of soda a day. I was easily over 100oz a day before. My goal is to slowly reduce what I drink. When I go out, to get smaller cups. And when I’m at work, to drink lemonade out of my bike bottle. I don’t want to put a deadline on it. That could be too much pressure. I’m just going to take it day by day.

Wish me luck. I’ll need it.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

