Up, Down. Up, Down

I have been wanting to make Sunday’s this summer, bike riding days. As this past Sunday approached, I knew I had errands to run. The good part of that is that since I don’t own a car, I’m pretty much getting exercise anyway.

On my way out, I stopped for lunch. And after eating, I got a call from my mom. She asked if I would be interested in coming up for dinner. Being the poor college student that I am, I wasn’t about to turn down a free meal. So, I agreed.

Now that I’ve committed to going up to Westminster, the next decision I needed to make was how I was going to get up there. The express bus doesn’t run on Sundays from downtown. So, I would have to take one of the local buses. Which would mean that it would take over an hour to get up there. It was a nice day. So, I decided to try a new route on the bike. I mapped it out on Google Maps and decided that Lowell Blvd probably was wide enough and less crowded to make riding easier.

What I didn’t plan on though, was hills. Although, the Denver metro area sits on the eastern plains, it’s still very close to the Rocky Mountains. Also, when your in a car, you don’t realize the elevation changes as much as when your on a bike. I’ve driven Lowell before. But, I guess my memory of it was a little hazy.

The ride started out very good. And after I passed Regis University, I headed down a significant hill. But, after that, I had to climb at least three hills. I handled the first two ok. But, when I saw the third, I had to stop at the base for a few minutes to rest. And about half way up, I had to get off to walk it.

Now, Lowell dead ends at 104th ave. Oh, I should say that I started at 32nd Ave. When I got to 104th, I rode through a golf course community and then a trail until I got to 120th. From there, I rode east one block to Federal. At 124th, I then turned right into an industrial park and rode through there until I got to my parents house. Runkeeper told me that I had ridden 14.60 miles. And burned 2,000 calories. Not bad. The whole trip took an hour and forty minutes. About forty minutes longer than if I had taken the bus. But, I wouldn’t have burned 2,000 calories sitting on my butt.

When I walked into my parents house and told them what I had done, my mom was a little shocked. She just assumed that I would have taken the bus. She insisted that I get some water. But, I felt good. It was nice to be able to sit down in a nice air conditioned house. But, I wasn’t thirsty.

I’m trying not to get overly optimistic with my goal making for riding this summer. I have done 16 and now 14 miles in one shot. I am very confident that I could do 20 miles. After that, I’ll shoot for increasing 5 mile increments. My goals for doing this aren’t necessarily the miles traveled. It’s to lose weight and live a more healthy life. Bike riding is just one aspect of it.

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

