I’m up! I’m ready! What?

Last night, I missed a call from my mom when I was at work. After I read the transcript sent to me from Google Voice, I called her back at my Uncle’s phone. They had been working at my Uncle’s house and now wanted a pizza. So, I made one for them and although my Uncle’s house is outside of our delivery area, I told her I could have it delivered if they promised a fat tip. After she agreed, she dropped the bomb.

They asked if I would be available to help out on Monday. My Uncle has essentially been rebuilding his house. I like to help out whenever I can. Afterall, both my Uncle and my parents have been there for me plenty of times. So, I agreed.

By the end of the night, I was exhausted. I think I need new shoes. By the time I was able to get out of there, I had it in my mind that I needed to wake up early Sunday morning at 8am. When in reality, I had agreed to do it on Monday morning. I blame the shoes and their lack of support.

I set up the alarm on my phone when I got home and settled into a long 4 hours of sleep. Can you hear the sarcasm in my voice?

I woke up at 8:45am with a start. I had slept through my alarm. I only had 15 minutes?! OK! I can do this! I got dressed. Looked out the window. Brushed my hair. Looked out the window. Put my shoes on. Looked out the window. Got a soda out of the fridge. Looked out the window. I was ready. But, now it was 9:15am and my step dad wasn’t here. While filling in my roommate about why I was awake at such an “early” hour, He looked out toward the driveway through his studio window. Nope. WTF?

I called their house. Between her laughs, I think I could hear a little bit of sympathy from my mom. I don’t remember saying goodbye. After taking off my shoes, the next thing I remembered was looking at my phone and noticing that it read 1:45pm.

Sigh. So much for sleep tonight.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

