A Public Apology to Meg Fowler

I’ve been on Twitter for a long time. My first account goes back to April, 2007. You know, back when you had to explain to all of your friends what twitter was.  I’ve been able to find many new friends with it. It’s been a great outlet for me.

I have a very dry sense of humor. Sometimes, it doesn’t go over real well. It’s a slim line between knowing when I’m in a bad mood and knowing that I’m joking. Sure, some of my tweets were during that time in my life when I was struggling with personal acceptance. I’ll admit it. I was a mess. Probably one of the best things I did during that time period was close the account that had my real name on it. Knowing these things I was saying would ultimately come back to bite me via a simple Google search.

I look back at things I said. Sometimes, I cringe a bit.I try not too hurt people’s feelings. I don’t believe in personal attacks. But, one tweet in particular made me feel really bad.

Her name is Meg Fowler. She’s one of the nicest people I have seen online.

Since this happened more than a few years ago (I can’t remember how long ago), it’s undoubtedly buried somewhere in the Library of Congress’ archive of inane tweets. So, I’ll do my best to paraphrase.

Meg sent out a tweet with a picture of an old pony tail of hers that her mother kept when she was a little girl. She mentioned that she wanted to take it to her salon and see if they could match the color.

I sent out this response “@Megfowler I dare you to say you cut it off a girl at the local playground on your way there”

She sent a response back saying that she changed her mind about going.

I felt so bad. Nothing I say online or in front of a person should keep them from doing what they want to do. I’m sure the women at the salon wouldn’t have even thought that was how she got it. They would have taken her at face value.

I don’t know if Meg ended up going to the salon to do what she wanted to do. I sure hope so. If after reading this, you laugh, then you took it as I intended. But, I got the impression that it didn’t go over that way with Meg.

If you read this Meg, I’m sorry. That was a horrible thing to say. I still think of that tweet whenever I see you in my tweet stream. I apologize. I hope everything is going well for you in Boston. Take care.

Robert.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

