Roommate’s loss

I awoke this morning to the news of my roommate’s father’s death. Apparently, his father was out for a walk and was hit by a car. My roommate is roughly 20 years older than me. So, that would put his father in his 80’s. Sure, that is a long life. But, as my roommate told me today when we were talking about it, “Everyone dies. But, you hope to go in your sleep, as peaceful as possible”.

I had hoped to stay home most of the day to get laundry done. But, after hearing that news, I felt like I needed to give my roommate some extra space. I put some laundry in while he made phone calls. And then took off.

When thinking about this post while I was riding toward downtown, I planned on making some statements about how life is fragile and you could go anytime. So, make it worthwhile. But, by the time I got around to writing, I had already been through the whole trying to walk into a pub drama. So, I’m a little too emotionally drained to write. But, it is significant news. Enough to say something. I feel bad for his loss.

He’ll have to travel back east for the funeral. I volunteered to take care of the dog and get the mail while he’s gone. It’s not yet clear when he’ll be leaving. Or how long he will be gone. He’s been so nice to me, it’s the least I can do.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Death and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roommate’s loss

  1. Stacy T says:

    My roommate lost her father also. She misses him everyday. I didn’t comment on it much since it seems she doesn’t want to talk about it. I hope your roommate is alright.

Leave a Reply

