Hanging out amidst the Normal people

I got back downtown tonight and thought maybe I would get a quick drink where I usually go Thursday nights. It was about 10:45pm on a Saturday night. A rare Saturday night. A Saturday night I didn’t have to work.
Now, I didn’t really want alcohol. What I was really looking for was a place where I wouldn’t be alone. What’s really sad is that I spent about 3 hours before hand at my parents house. I did really have to pick up my sunglasses that I left there on Easter Sunday. But, in all reality, I have to admit that I needed human contact. And since I don’t have friends I can just call up, I headed north. Yeah, pathetic.
I rode over to my favorite Thursday spot. But it was closed. At 11pm. Now, it is a bar. And it is Saturday night. And it is located in a major metropolitan city. So, I have no idea what their excuse is. Maybe they don’t want to make money. Oh well. I wasn’t quite ready to go home yet. But, my history of walking into new places is not so hot. But, I thought I might try to ride around looking for a nice place to hang out. For some reason I rode south on Broadway from the capital. I’ve lived here since 1997. But, I can’t say I’ve ever been south that way. Well, maybe once when I saw the Blair Witch Project at the Mayan Theater. But, I didn’t remember much about the neighborhood. Turns out I wasn’t missing much. I got as far as Speer before I gave up. Oh well. At least I now know. I went back up to 17th and headed east toward Washington. Still, nothing.
At this point, I decided to cave in. Looked up the bus routes on my phone. Saw that I had over an hour. So, I’m at the only place I know I’ll be ok. Illegal Pete’s on the mall.
Pete’s is packed and loud music is blaring as I type this. I picked up a fish burrito and my weekly allotment of mexicoke. And grabbed a seat. What I see here are a bunch of normal people. I have a friend who calls them “norms”. I’m jealous of them. None of them are alone. They look happy. I think many of them are flirting. But, it’s hard to tell for sure. At any rate, they and their friends are enjoying a Saturday night.

I am not.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

