This just in: Stolen bike still stolen

I think it was Saturday or Sunday when news broke here locally that a bike theft ring had been busted in Elbert County. Two guys, while stopped for a traffic violation were discovered to have several wads of cash. An investigation eventually led officers to a storage locker filled with bikes. 30 were recovered.

I found the number online to the deputy in charge of the investigation. But, it was only today that I found the time to call her. She was very nice. But, sadly, my bike, a Cannondale Quick CX, was not among those recovered. Oh well. I gave up hope of finding it a couple of weeks after it disappeared. I’m happy with my new bike. I’ve recently decided to go another winter sans car. So, having the Cannondale back would have been nice. I’ll probably wait until the end of summer to buy a mountain bike. My current bike is a Specialized Langster. It’s a great little compact single speed. But, there will undoubtedly be many snow filled days where the use of a street bike with no tread won’t be practical.

The Elbert County Sheriff’s office has about 30 bikes to be returned. If you have recently (or not so recently) lost a bike, you should call them at 303-805-6110 to see if they have it. What have you got to lose? Make sure you have the serial number.

Good Luck.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

