What statement are you trying to make?

After work today, I rode downtown to take some pictures. En route to my destination, I hopped on the 16th St. Mall. I pulled up to one of the lights and instead of disengaging shoe from pedal, I reached out to the back of pedicab in front of me. The young lady driving it looked back and after a second, smiled.

I usually keep one ear open while I ride. I heard some guy talking to my left. After a second I realized he was talking about me to his friend.

Him to his friend: “I wonder what statement this guy is trying to make.”

Him to me: “What statement are you trying to make with a blacked out bike”

I completely ignore the fact that it’s not ‘blacked out’. I simply removed any identifying marks to it’s brand.

Me: “I don’t want to get it stolen.”

Him: Doesn’t that increase the chances it will get stolen.

Me: No. If you knew what kind of bike it was, it would increase the likelihood it would get stolen.”

Him: “What kind is it?”

Me: “No Comment.”

The light turns and as I start to ride away, the pedi-cab driver smiles.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment