Help find a bike thief

Over the weekend, I heard that an acquaintance had her bike stolen. Her name is Elaine. I had just said hello to her last Thursday up at Chautauqua for Ignite Boulder. I walked outside during the intermission where beer was being served. Elaine and I looked at each other like we looked familiar, but couldn’t place each other. We had met at least 2 or 3 Ignites in the past. It was nice saying hi to her. I follow her on twitter. Outside of the online world, our paths don’t cross to much. But, everything I hear says she’s great.

On Saturday, I saw her report on twitter that her bike was stolen. Bike thefts are a sad reality these days. I just had mine stolen 2 or 3 months ago. As Elaine said on twitter, there is a special hell for bike thieves. Elaine lives in Boulder, which I hear has more bike thefts than Denver. Not too long after her original post, she wrote again to say that there may be a picture of the thief riding away on her bike. I know it’s possible to use the internet for good. I was able to get my cell phone back last year thanks to a community of people who barraged the phone with text messages after I put the number on twitter.

Today, I hope to give at least a little bit of good will back by posting the picture and a link to Elaine’s blog post about the incident. If you see this loser and/or her bike, please call the Boulder police.

Elaine Ellis’ original blog post about the incident: http://www.theartofawkward.com/2011/05/have-you-seen-this-bike-thief/

Elaine on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/ElaineEllis

 

Pic of the perp. I think he looks a little bit like the actor Jason Momoa.

And a picture of her bike below.

 

Elainebikethief

Screen-shot-2011-05-21-at-2.20.42-PM.png

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Bike, bike thieves, NotAboutFamily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

