No Pride, No Ride

I work in a restaurant. That means I have to work mostly nights and at least some part of the weekend. I had planned on going to Pride last weekend in Denver. Also, this past weekend was the Denver Century. I wasn’t going to ride the century. I’m not ready for that. But, I was going to ride the 20 mile “fun” ride they were having on Saturday. I’ve ridden that distance often.

But, about 3 weeks ago, my boss asked me if I would work for her so she could go camping. I could have said no. But, it would have meant that some one else would have filled in. I might have lost hours. And I value job security. So, I ended up working her hours. That meant that along with my usual shift of closing Friday night, I had to work 2pm to 2am on Saturday and 4pm to midnight Sunday. Now, since I closed Friday and had to be there pretty early on Saturday, that through Saturday off the table for the bike ride. And didn’t really give me a lot of time at Pride. But, I figured that I could at least spend a couple of hours downtown on Sunday. I would miss the parade for the third year in a row (I’ve never seen it. But, I’ve been trying to be there for it 3 years in a row), but at least I might get there.

I left the house on my bike with plenty of time to spend two hours downtown and then ride back to the store. But, just as I was beginning the descent through the Highlands, I heard the unmistakable psssst that meant I had a flat tire. I didn’t have a spare with me. And I didn’t have enough time to find a bike store that was open near me on a Sunday. So, I gave up on going to Pride and walked 1.25 miles back to the house.

Oh well. I’m not horribly upset about it. I was mainly disappointed because in the two previous years, my social anxiety had bothered me. I was looking forward to seeing how enjoyable it would be now that I don’t have that burden to deal with. I had a warm up of sorts a couple of weeks ago at the People’s Fair at the same venue (Civic Center Park). I had a great time there. The other reason I’m not too disappointed is because I don’t see myself as fitting in with the GLBT spectrum. I suffer from gender dysphoria. That means I’m taking hormones to transition in the future. But, that has nothing really to do with me sexual orientation. I’m not attracted to men or women. And that seems to be what Pride is all about. At least that’s my take away.

Oh well. Maybe I’ll be able to take the entire weekend off next year.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

