The Urgency To Be Real

My former therapist, a Jewish woman, posted this poem by Rainer Maria Rilke on Facebook today. She wrote that it’s “For the urgency in each of us to be real.” Maybe it’s because I’m not a religious person. But, I’m still taking it in. Still re-reading it. I thought it good enough to post here. Please tell me what you think in the comments below.

 

God Speaks To Each Of Us

God speaks to each of us before we are,

Before he’s formed us – then, in cloudy speech,

But, only then, he speaks these words to each

And silently walks with us from the dark:

Driven by your senses, dare

To the edge of longing. Grow

Like a fire’s shadowcasting glare

Behind assembled things, so you can spread

Their shapes on me as clothes.

Don’t leave me bare.

Let it all happen to you. beauty and dread.

Simply go – no feeling is too much –

And only this way can we stay in touch.

Near here is the land

That they call Life.

You’ll know when you arrive

By how real it is.

Give me your hand.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Poem, religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

