Like Father, Like Son

Once upon a time,

There was a 7th grader who looked to have a bit of a steroid problem. One day, he thought I looked at his girlfriend. Yeah. Right. He and his band of thugs followed me all the way home on their bikes and we had a confrontation at my front door. I told him straight out that I wasn’t looking at his girlfriend. And that he’d obviously pummel me. I forget what age 7th grade is. But, I think I was still a bit scrawny. I was taller than most of my classmates. But, I hadn’t yet bulked up from swimming.

Much to the mob’s dismay, there wasn’t a fight that day. I don’t know if it was because I was honest with him that he would beat me up. But, as we got older, he and I talked often. We weren’t close friends. But, we had a few classes together. And we’d say hi in passing. I’d like to think he matured a little bit.

Years pass. Lots of them. In the meantime, Facebook is created.

I was briefly facebook friends with this guy. But, I was also friends with his now ex-wife. Who I later found out is the sister of one of my best friends from elementary school. Anyway, I find out from her that this kid who picked a fight with me is kind of a jerk. He’s not paying child support. He runs a small shop in an alley in my hometown that fixes air cooled VW’s. He took it over from his Dad. And since most of his income is in cash, he claims little.

I’m not too fond of dead beat dads. So, I dropped this guy from my friends list.

On to Current Day. Well, day before yesterday.

My friend, the ex-wife, posts on Facebook: “My son is becoming just like his Dad. I saw this coming years ago!”

Being the smart ass that I can be, I posted back: “He’s starting a shop fixing air cooled vw’s? Wow. Talk about a dead end job”

She then responded: “LMAO. You just made my day.”

That was my intention. Took make her laugh. I then moved on with my day.

About 20 minutes later, I received the following PM from her son who saw my posting: “who the fuck are you mother fucker ima show my dad what you said aha i feel bad for you now dumb ass you dont no my family you fucked upp”

Note that this was his spelling. Not mine.

Now, there was a brief 10 millisecond period I spent thinking about the best possible retort to this little chump. But, then reason and maturity kicked in. He’s just a kid. A kid who needs his father’s approval. I’m 38 years old. I’m not going to get into a pissing match with a 16 year old. The poor thing wouldn’t see me coming.

I forwarded the message to his mother. Along with an apology. I hoped, by getting in the middle of this family squabble, I hadn’t made things harder for her. You can say she probably shouldn’t have posted that. Especially since her son could see it. Oh well.

She’s now since erased that posting.

I do hope his dad sees what I wrote. I couldn’t care less what he thinks about me. And I’m not scared that he’s going to come out to Colorado to beat me up. But, if it means he talks to his dad, about anything, that’s a win.

All sons need their fathers.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

