Day At the Lake With the Family

My parents invited me to go up with them and my Step Sister’s family, who are visiting from Illinois, to go spend the day at a nearby lake today. This is the second year they have been taking their jet ski up there. I was only able to go once last summer. I had a good time. And I looked forward to a nice relaxing day with family.

The night before, I had to work until 1:30am. I think I finally got to sleep at 3:30am. My uncle was to pick me up at 8:30am. So, I knew I had to do something to make sure I would wake up. I set 2 alarms. One on my phone. The other on the iPad. I have this hazy memory of waking up at 8am to turn both of them off. The next thing I know, it’s 8:45am. I hopped out of my bed and found no sign of my uncle’s car out front. I quickly gave him a call and it turned out he was only about a mile from my house, having left thinking I wasn’t awake. By the time he turned around, I was out front, ready to go. From there, we met my parents at their house. We traded my uncle’s car for my parents car with my step sister’s family following in their car. My mom and I chatted for a few minutes, catching up on things. Then she got a call on her cell.

It was my sister. The same sister who isn’t involving me in her life because of “my decisions”. I only heard my Mom’s side of the conversation. Which amounted to essentially telling her that they had invited me first. And saying Yes two or three times. I feel so bad for my Mom. She’s trying to ride this very fine line by being the go between my sister and I. Before the call concluded, my mom had started to break down. She said “No. Of course there won’t be tension.” My sister wanted to come. But, not if it would turn into a disaster. When mom hung up, she announced to everyone in the car that my sister and her kids were coming.

After the call, my mom and I talked. My sister seems to think that there will be very obvious changes to my body thanks to the hormones. Outside of a few minor non visable things, there really aren’t. I was just happy that I would be able to see her and her kids. We were only onsite for about 30 minutes when I spotted her car. As much as I didn’t want there to be tension, it was inevitable. She ended up sitting on the other side of the group from me. We didn’t talk for a little while. I thought about saying something, anything small, but she looked a little uncomfortable. So, I waited. After lunch, I asked her a few questions. I had heard that she had gotten a new iPhone when the glass on her last one broke. So, I asked her how she liked the iPhone 4. She looked at me and answered my question. Talking to her felt formal. Like we had lost something. Like we were to aquaintances making small talk. It was weird.

I didn’t want to push it. So, I just relaxed and had a good time.

She and her kids ended up spending most of the afternoon with us. They had to leave at about 2pm to get ready for a sporting event her daughter was participating in. She didn’t say goodbye. Neither did I. When she was getting in her car, I was laying down on a towel. I was tired. I turned over and lifted my head toward her car to try and make eye contact with her and possibly wave goodbye. But, no luck. She was gone.

Shortly after she left, I was hot enough that I eventually waded into the water in my shorts and shirt. I can’t find my swim suit. It’s somewhere in storage. I really should have forseen this, and brought a second set of clothes. But, I was exhausted when I was making preparations. Why did I bring my laptop?

Contrary to what the kids were saying, the water felt great. I eventually dove head first and swam out a little bit. Hey, look at that. I can still swim! Just as I was heading back to shore, I hear my mom shouting out my name. Standing on the beach were two State Rangers. Yes, I know you aren’t supposed to go swimming in this section of the beach. Happy that I was back to a depth of where my knees would be submerged if I had stood up, the ranger and his partner departed. Sigh. Literally all day, the four youngest nieces and nephews had been throwing mud from the lake bed at both signs near our site that read “No Swimming”. Where was Ranger Rick when this scandalous act of vandalism was taking place?

Overall, a good day. I just wish I understood my sister’s thought process right now. Is she having a hard time wrapping her head around what I feel I have to do? Is religious doctrine guiding her decisions? I’d like to talk with her. No argument. Just talk.

Something tells me she isn’t ready.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Family, Gender Stuff, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

