Good Start To The Day

Well, at least for me.

I came downtown to catch the 120x up to Westminster. When I got here, I remembered that I didn’t have enough money for the express bus. So, over to the bank on Wynkoop. But, the bus doesn’t take $20 bills. And it’s noon.

Chipotle: line out the door

Starbucks: I don’t drink coffee

Noodles & Co.: Ditto with the long line

I almost walked over to Illegal Pete’s. But, remembered Wahoo’s just north of 15th. Lucky enough, no line. I told the cashier that I just needed a large drink. He responded with “Sure. I’ll give it to you for just .75 because I think I remember you from Stapleton. You know. The Northfield Wahoo’s.”

Wow. I complimented him on his good memory and thanked him.

When I got back to the bike locker on Market, I put the backpack down for a second to enjoy my lemonade and check twitter. A minute later, a woman pulls into a spot right in front of me and asks if I have change for a dollar for the parking meter. I fished around in my pocket and only found three quarters. She took it because she just needed something fast so she wouldn’t be late for her appointment.

Not two minutes later, a meter man walks by and gives her a ticket. I told him I just saw her feed the meter minutes earlier. He said something inaudible, put the ticket on her windshield and walked away.

After he left, I checked the meter. 41 minutes remained. I shook my head in disbelief, gathered my things and walked toward the entrance to the bus depot. But, about half way there, I turned around and walked back to her car. I found a pen in my backpack and wrote her a note on the ticket envelope. I told her how much time remained on the meter and told her I would be a witness for her if she chose to challenge the ticket. I left my name and phone number.

The ticket was for $150.

Denver meter maids have been getting a lot of bad press recently for handing out tickets to people who didn’t have violations. I know a few people who have complained that they knew they still had time on their meter and still had tickets waiting when they came back to their cars.

Maybe she’ll just pay it. But, I hope she doesn’t. Somebody has to fight back against these jerks.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

