Advice for Trans Websites

This blog post was written by a trans friend of mine about 5 years ago. Even though it’s been awhile, it’s still really good advice for those considering writing a trans related blog.

http://roadtovenus.blogspot.com/2006/07/transgender-blog-and-website-tips.html

I haven’t always followed some of these guidelines. They aren’t what you absolutely should do. Just some ideas. Some really good ones. Especially the points about not posting exact locations. The web has gotten more personal and exact (Foursquare & Facebook checkins) since this was written. In my mind these tips are needed more than ever. Sure, the world has gotten a tiny bit more accepting lately. But, it only takes one moron to ruin your day. Or make it so you won’t have any more days. Better to be safe than sorry.

I’m currently reviewing how I handle myself online. What I put where and when. This page is central in my planning.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Advice for Trans Websites

  1. Marie says:

    Says, wow, a blast from the past! I remember reading that way back when. Of course, at that point I wasn’t blogging about being trans, but I did try to keep to those principles for my blog at the time.

Leave a Reply

