Emergency Card

All of this talk of bike accidents and wills has made me thinking about what would happen if I was in an accident and medical personnel needed to know about medical conditions to treat me. I have a medical condition they would need to know about. I take three different medicines they would need to know about. If I’m not concious, what should I do to help emergency personnel in their job?

I have decided to make a little laminated card to place in my wallet. I’m going to even put it in front of my driver’s license to make it easily visible. It will have the following information on it:

*My name

*Address

*Emergency contact #’s for parents, grandparents, my sister and my roommate.

*Ask to be taken to the VA Hospital if possible (If not possible, then the VA will pay for my treatment at another hospital)

*Blood type (Ever since leaving the military, I have kept a dog tag on my keychain. My blood type O Negative is listed on it)

*Medicines I take and the fact that I’m diabetic listed

That’s all I have right now. If you can think of anything I haven’t listed here, please post it in the comments to this post.

*A friend has DM’d me on Twitter suggesting that I add this information to my phone. But, I keep a passcode lock on it. Unless the phone is unlocked when the accident happens, their out of luck. Otherwise it’s a great idea for anyone who doesn’t lock their phone.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Emergency Card

  1. Good idea. Your list has the essentials. Allergies? To meds? I’ve heard you should list your deets on your phone as a contact: ICE (In case of emergency). You could put that at the top of your wallet card too.

  2. tossingfrogs says:

    Rajean, I didn’t think of allergies to meds, since I don’t knowingly have any. But, I could say that. Would eliminate any guesswork if I’m not conscious. I could put the code for my phone in my wallet. But, then if I say that I’m doing that on my blog, would I risk being mugged for both. Or maybe that’s just paranoia. I included that detail for people who don’t lock their phones down.

  3. Tika Bean !! says:

    Emergency and personal contact information can be integrated into a clever lock screen image. If that’s something you wanted to do.

Leave a Reply

