Will Talk

Up until now, talk amongst family members about accidents and death have centered around my Grandparents. They are in their 80’s. I’ve been present when my mom and grandparents have talked about where they keep wills and how to access their bank accounts. Too care for one’s effects and make medical decisions for a loved one is a very solemn thing.

I spent last night at my parents house. I rode the 15 miles up there yesterday. And truth be told, I was a little too tired. I fell asleep on their couch before giving up on getting to the bus at 11pm. This morning, as I made preparations to leave, my mom told me they have have prepared a will. She said she named me to make some decisons. I didn’t expect that. Granted, this is if her husband can’t do the job. Thankfully, both of them have something called “5 wishes” on file personally, and with Kaiser that details their wishes in case of medical incapacitation.

It’s not something I take lightly at all. I would hate to lose them. But, grateful that they think so highly of me. It’s not something I would do without advice from other family members and with a great deal of thought.

They travel a lot. And they have certain assets they would like protected. They have reached a certain age. My step father had a minor heart attack a couple of years ago. And my mother has been hospitalized with blood pressure problems.

Although I haven’t spoken with him directly, I got the impression that my own father felt the need to get things to me just in case. Recently, he had a quadruple bypass surgery. Before going in, he sent me a package of some of his things. Among the items in the package were his 35mm Nikon camera and a very old picture of my Grandfather when he was little. It meant a lot. And I have treasured them. But, personal objects like this, are just stuff. They aren’t what I care about. I want my parents in my life. All three of them. The time will come. I know that. I just hope it’s far from now.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

