Plugging the Name Leaks

When I decided to go by Becca on Google+, I feared that mail sent via from the same gmail account, would show Rebecca instead of R*******. Before I did it, I sent out a test email to a few friends. The email is my first initial with something else after that. When  I got back word that it was my male name and not Becca, I became a little more comfortable. I’m in this weird middle place where I’m not out to everyone. And I use that email address as my main account. I should have really planned this out better. I do actually have an account that would work better. In fact, after resetting my phone some time back, that account was accidentally set as my main account. Getting an email from the sister saying she didn’t appreciate getting mail from Becca made for a fun day.

Last week, I started a gchat session with a friend. He didn’t respond. And I didn’t think anything of it until a day or two later when I received an email from him responding to my question. It was entitled “re: google chat conversation With [my male name]. Now, he’s in the know. So, no big deal. But, I needed to do something. Google’s services are not always connected to each other as much as you’d think. Their getting there. But, it’s a slow process. I just fixed it. But, it took some work. I don’t know if can be done in a different way. But, this is how I did it.

The problem made it’s appearance in chat. So, I went to gmail.com and found the chat area on the left. I then clicked on a down arrow that pulled down a contextual menu revealing “settings”. I clicked that. The screen that appeared looked like it was mail settings. Third option down is “send mail as”. To the right of that appeared to be two options. My male name and the female name I changed in my google profile. To the right of both is “edit info”. Select that and you can edit the name that appears. I chose to show [first initial][last name]atgmaildotcom. That way, I can manage this a little bit better.

Like I wrote in the first paragraph above, I should have planned this better. Living a lie and putting firewalls between two different aspects of me is tiring just to think about. Not only am I tired of lying. This is who I am. I can’t partition myself like that. Not anymore. Now, what I can try to do, is control how soon people get the info. I’m mostly concerned about work and family. Email is one of the ways we communicate. I’ll keep the plugs in the dam as long as I can. But, eventually, the news will get out. Controlling the timing is important to me.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plugging the Name Leaks

  1. maddox says:

    Interesting story – I’m having similar issues, although I do have a completely separate account for my “alter ego” I’ve been somehow trying to merge both “fake” and “real” identities, but haven’t figured out quite how to go about it. The main issue is I have yet to decide on my name…

Leave a Reply

