Apolitical Blues

I used to be one of the biggest politcal activists you’d ever meet. Using the word passionate seems like an understatement. How I became a Young Republican is quite another story. But, I’ll put it this way. My childhood idols were Ronald Reagan, Lee Atwater and Alex P. Keaton (character from the TV show Family Ties). Yes, I wrote childhood. I got angry at my mom when, after handing her my Christmas wish list, she laughed because I had listed Ronald and Nancy Reagan head slippers. In high school, I used to ditch class to listen to Rush Limbaugh.

Something happened when I was in the Navy in the mid 90’s that made me start to question my passion. The rise of the religious right. It didn’t seem right (pardon the pun) to involve religion in politics. The Republican Party, which I saw as staying out of the social debate, started making statements about gay marraige and a host of other issues. I couldn’t understand why a party that literally stood for small government was now getting involved in the daily lives of Americans. And for a good number of recently elected congress critters, it was unabashedly in the name of the Bible. I guess I should have paid more attention to the word “Conservative”.

It probably came at the right time. I still wasn’t close to making peace with my gender dysphoria. But, I was certainly struggling. I knew I was born this way. I just didn’t know how to make it go away yet. And I had gay friends. It frustrated me that something I had loved for so long, was now being used to divide and keep people down. The more I struggled with my own problems, the less I would speak about politics. I went from debating relatives at Thanksgiving, to ignoring, shaking my head and changing the subject.

Today, I look at politics and see nothing but disgusting people. On both sides. I have no desire to go anywhere near political discourse. I still have my beliefs. I’m no longer a registered Republican. But, that doesn’t mean I’m a Democrat either. I’m a registered Independent. But, I can’t can’t tell you when I’ll be voting again. I’m a social libertarian and fiscal conservative I really want nothing to do with it. I have enough stress on my plate right now. I don’t want to argue with anyone. I want to enjoy my life. Arguing is not enjoying.

This is an old song. But, I was introduced to it by this band. The lyrics are a bit dated. But, the feeling fits where I’m at right now.

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

