Neat Little Instapaper Trick

A friend retweeted this earlier:

“@onetake me too RT @lauriepercival I wish I could push a button next to a vm on my phone and be able to write a note or mark it as important. #iPhone”

Immediately after reading this, I wondered if I could send my Google Voicemail messages to Instapaper. I already get email transcriptions. And it’s pretty easy to play the messages from within the email. So, I don’t know how useful this would be. But, I was still curious.

So, I went to Instapaper first. I don’t go to their website very often. I usually just use the iPad app. But, I thought I might need an email address that I could send the messages to. I know I can do the same thing with Evernote. Sure enough, there was my personal email address. All I had to do was add it to my address book. Once I send it to that particular address, it should appear in my Instapaper app.

From there, I went to google.com/voice. I’ll eventually do this from my phone and/or iPad. But, I had the laptop in front of me at the time. Below each voice mail is a drop down menu. One of the options is to email the voicemail. Once clicked, I pasted in the special email address supplied by Instapaper. I clicked send and then dug through my backpack to find the iPad.

As soon as I opened the Instapaper app, it began syncing. In a minute or so, along with everything else I hadn’t yet synced, was my voicemail and horrible transcript. At the bottom of the transcript was a link that read “Play Message”. Once touched, a contextual message popped up to the side (as it does in iOS) asking if I wanted to 1: Read Later 2: Open or 3: Copy. I clicked(?) “Open” and an embedded browser popped up. I plugged in the headphones (I’m typing this in a rather loud Chipotle restaurant) and within a second or two I was listening to an old voicemail left by my mom.

Sweet little trick.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

