Shake Rattle & Roll

The earth shook in Colorado last night. And I didn’t feel it. A magnitude 5.3 quake shook late last night about 180 miles south of Denver near the New Mexico border. I didn’t hear about it until about an hour after it had happened. I was at work. When I got home and started my post work routine of getting ready for bed, I was checking twitter and saw one friend post that she felt it in Louisville, near Boulder.

As I’m writing this, news is coming in about a tremor hitting the east coast. Looks like it was a 5.9 and felt from Atlanta to New Hampshire.

Reminds me of earthquakes from my youth. I was born and raised in Southern California. Earthquakes are a way of life there. Usually shaking you awake in the very early morning. I’d have to say the most memorable one was the Whittier quake. At the time, I was in the 8th grade, I think. I had to take the bus to school. The bus stop was right across the street from my house. But, due to the social anxiety, I didn’t like sitting out there waiting with everyone else. So, I left my bedroom window open and laid on my bed listening to the radio and waiting for the imminent sound of air brakes that meant I better run out the door. This particular morning, after a song, the DJ came on the air to say that they had just felt a large earthquake that seemed to go on forever. KROQ is in Pasadena. That’s roughly 100 miles from where I was listening. 20 seconds passed before the house started heaving violently up and down like a jack hammer. I was nearly fell off my bed on my way to the doorway. I could hear my mom yelling at me from the kitchen once I got there. Once the ground stopped moving, we made sure each of us were ok and then looked around the house. It didn’t appear that anything was broken. I remember looking out at the pool in the backyard. The water was still moving around like we had installed a wave maker. Pretty crazy. After a couple of minutes, I had to get out to the bus.

I miss earthquakes.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

