The Nasty Habits

Yesterday, as I was searching for Oingo Boingo music on youtube (Haven’t I seen all of them by now?), I ran into a cover band called The Nasty Habits. Nothing on their site says where they got the name. But, Nasty Habits is the name of an old Boingo song. So, that explains why it popped up in my search.

But, what makes this band special is not their name. It’s that they are all (I think they just hired a male drummer) transgender. I found the singers facebook page, which she keeps public. Apparently, she just came back from Thailand for surgery. Hmm. I wonder what kind of surgery? And when I posted the video I will include in this post, one of my trans facebook friends said she’s friends with their bassist. I’ve seen many of their videos now and read all of the comments. Most seem genuinly shocked, not that they are trans. They do a good job at putting that out there by calling themselves “Seattle’s premier transgender cover band” and “The girls your mother warned you about”. No, most are shocked at how good they really are. Maybe it’s because a couple of them look a little over the top in how they dress. Or maybe most people have low opinions of trans people to begin with. So, there was no where to go but up with these people. Most didn’t care that they were trans because the music was so good. There were only a few bad comments. Which were already detected and buried by the time I found them.

According to the bands facebook page, they will only play in a “bigot free zone”. And sadly, that leaves them fewer options. But, there are plenty of gay bars in big cities. Some of the videos scan the crowd. And sometimes you see people who you might call trans. And maybe a little older. But, they’re playing late 70’s and 80’s songs. Those *cough* people are a little older than the Justin Bieber crowd. There was one or two videos shot at a location that had a lot of younger people. And if I was to stereotype, it seemed to be a rather straight crowd. That made me feel good. Every time I see trans people suceeding, I get a little more brave.

Thank you ladies. You really are great. Now, if I only lived in the Pacific Northwest, I’d go see a show.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

