Word Is Spreading

I knew this would happen. And as long as I don’t get harassed at work or lose my job, I just have to accept that it as inevitable. If this would have happened even a couple of months ago, I would be stressing it quite a bit. But, the amount of support I’ve received from friends and family have really been amazing. Enough so,  that I feel I gain strength from them.

I received a text message last night from a close friend at another of our locations where I used to work. It read “***** pulled me into the office to ask me a question.” The person she is referring to is the general manager of the restaurant. I sent a message back asking if it was about me. That may seem very self centered. There has been a bit stressful between she and him recently. So, I wouldn’t have been surprised to hear that she was sharing that with me. But, considering that it’s just under two weeks since I changed my name on facebook, I just assumed that’s what it was about. She responded with “Yup”. My phone has been kind of acting up recently. So, I called from the work phone. I knew she was working. But, I called her mobile. It rang to voicemail. A couple of minutes later I decided to call the store directly. She answered. They had been a little too busy to respond. But, we had a few minutes to talk.

She told me that he asked if I had changed my name on Facebook to Rebecca. She responded with yes. He then said “No way!” and followed up with “When is he going to come out as gay?” This is a common misconception. Everyone thinks the two are connected. This friend of mine has known about me for almost ten years. In that time, I’ve been able to educate her pretty well. She told him what I’ve told her in the past about how gender identity and sexual preference are seperate. And that I’m mostly assexual. She said he didn’t laugh. But, we both know he has a huge mouth. So, I expect the news to eventually make it to my location. Hopefully, I’ll be out of here before then.

My friend has been incredibly supportive. I really do draw strength from her. I expressed my concern. She then told me “So what if they find out. Just tell them ‘Do you want to lose your job?’ if they harass me or act disrespectful in any way.” She has a point. Colorado does have pretty good employment anti-discrimination laws on the books. And I’ve known my direct boss for 10 years. She and I get along great. But, just in case, I have a few cards I can play. I don’t like to play dirty. But, it never hurts to keep something in reserve.

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

