Is it Just Me? (A Question to you the reader)

Last night, while having what is rapidly becoming a regular late night chat with my friend Sarah, the following was discussed:

Me: “That’s why people think I’m brave and they “respect” me. Because they look at me and think wow. She is brave.

Sarah: “You say that like there’s something wrong with it. Is there?”

Me: “I mean, they look at how I look and think DAMN, to transition while looking like that?!?

Sarah: “You think people actually think that way?”

Me: “Yes, I do. Don’t you?”

Sarah: “No, I don’t.”

That is honestly how I feel. Now, I realize many of the people who read this are my friends. One of the most frustrating aspects of friendship is that sometimes, friends don’t tell you what you need to hear. I would like to ask you if this is why you think I am “brave”. Please be honest. You can either answer here in the comments, send me an “@” on twitter, or comment on Facebook. I won’t take it personally. I promise. I just need to know if this is all in my head or not.

Thanks.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it Just Me? (A Question to you the reader)

  1. I think you’re brave for sharing your journey and being open about your thoughts and feelings (for example, this post). Heck, I was nervous when I posted photos of my fridge & pantry uncensored (http://sarahewelch.com/2010/01/04/my-pantry-uncensored/). Uncertainty, anxiety, fear. Those aren’t things I usually share publicly. You have been. That’s why I think you’re brave.

  2. It’s both. That sucks, right? Damn that we never get clear answers in this life.

    You’re asking questions about perception. Nobody gets answers about that. Philosophers grow old and hated (or they just kill themselves young) pondering about perception.

    You get to decide what your perception is. You can base that as little or as much on the perceived perception of others as you want, but first admit to yourself that it is merely your perception of their perception.

    You also get to influence the perception of others with your own, because they care about your thoughts as much as you do about theirs.

    The truth is that we are all fantastically gorgeous with lots of room for improvement. What do you want the answer to be? Decide on that, act on that, be at peace with that.

  3. Becky H. says:

    It’s in your head.
    It’s actually not about your appearance at all.
    It’s about taking the risk of being true to yourself.
    Most people won’t take the risk to get a new job…let alone tackle the change that you’re pursuing.
    I think you’re brave because you’re honoring yourself, taking steps to actualize what you want, and analyzing your choices.
    I think you’re brave because although a person may have all the support in the world, I think it’s a lonely journey with foreign terrain that you’re embarking on.
    But the fact that you’re doing it…is brave.

    So, yeah…it’s just you. 🙂
    But take what others see in you, that bravery, and let it provide further support to your burgeoning experience.

    Also, I’m not saying this because I’m your friend…because, I’m not actually. I’m a Twitter acquaintance – fairly impartial.

    Now, keep doing what you’re doing and know that there are a lot of folks cheering for you!

    Becky aka NePlusUltra

  4. I think you are brave because of what you are going through, and because of your ability to expose so much to the world. You might be afraid of things in real life, but this blog is pure fearlessness. If I were in your shoes I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t be as open as you’ve been.

Leave a Reply

