Happy Birthday Libby

I have this friend. I call her a friend, despite the fact that we have never met. You see, she lives in this far off magical place called “England”. While I’m stuck here in America. Yet, while we have not met, she has been one of my biggest supporters. We both started using Twitter around the same time. And since she is 7 hours ahead of me, and I am a night owl, I would see her say something before she went off to work. I said a simple good morning one day. Every time I see her now, I say good morning.

You see, I am being polite. But, it’s not just that. She’s been my biggest supporter. She was one of the first people I came out too. When I’m down, she cheers me up. I’ve learned much about British slang and food from her. My family, supposedly came from England, so I’ve always found it an interesting place. Through her, I’ve learned much. She’s also a midwife with the NHS. A job, I didn’t even know existed anymore. Which is super cool.

Recently, she became the fourth person in my life to be diagnosed with Mulitple Sclerosis. She’s been having a rough go lately. It’s not a fun disease. I wish I could reach through the twitter pipes and heal her. Or at the very least, give her a big hug. But, I can’t. All I can do is continue to say good morning when she cares to tell the world that she is awake for another day.

Today, Monday the 17th of October is her birthday. I’m writing this while I hope she is sleeping. Libby,  I want you to know you are one of the coolest people I have ever known. I love your outlook on life. You have the most amazing tattoos. And I admire, but don’t exactly understand your taste in music. You have a wonderful commitment to your family. You are a wonderful and loving person.

Happy Birthday Lib. I hope you had a great weekend and a lovely day today. Thanks for being there for me.

Frogtosser

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday Libby

  1. jelly says:

    That’s a beautiful tribute to Libby. She is a brave and special person x

Leave a Reply

