A Little Getaway

I couldn’t make it to the Miranda Henke memorial. I could have gotten there. That wouldn’t have been a problem. It would have been only a couple of miles to get there on my bike or even a bus. No, I needed to get away. I haven’t been doing very well lately. So, I headed up to my parents house to spend the night.

I suspect my frustrations and bad mood are two fold. I keep myself too busy. I need to lighten the load on my calendar. Sometimes I jokingly say that I’ll sleep when I’m dead. But, I often do pass out doing something. Also, I’ve been dealing with the withdrawal from not having testosterone blockers. They are in the mail and quite honestly, can not get here soon enough. I’m still on estrogen. But, their not as effective without the blockers. I would love to get an orchiectomy. And might do that in the next year. But, until then, I’ll have to deal with the hell that is spironolactone.

So, I headed up to Westminster day before yesterday on the express bus. And rode the short distance from the park and ride to their house. When I turned the corner and saw that my grandparents were there, I smiled. It had been almost a month since I had seen them. We had a very pleasant visit. It was nice catching up with them. And dinner was great. I’ll never turn down a home cooked meal. Even if it has mushrooms in it.

I ended up staying up later than my parents and catching up with the twitter, Facebook and google reader feeds. I then was slept in the next day, had a much needed conversation with my mom and a great lunch with a friend and her two kids. We went to a Chinese restaurant I’ve never been too. Which was fun. She even gave me a little present of chocolates from a friends business she visited on a recent trip. On my way out of the parking lot (I borrowed my mom’s car), I turned on the radio, which was tuned to a station my mom was listening too. I started laughing when I recognized the song shouting at me through the speakers. It was Diana Ross’ I’m Coming Out.

By the time I got back to my neighborhood and arrived at work, I felt rested and refreshed.

I really needed that little vacation. Now, I’m ready to take on the world once again. Even more so than you might imagine.

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

