Existential Tripping

A year or two after we broke up, the ex-girlfriend and I would occasionally talk. It was mostly shop talk since we worked for competitors in the same area. We have both moved on with our lives. I’m dealing with the gender stuff and putting my life back together. And she is happily married with two children. We recently became friends on Facebook. I think we both kind of said “whatever” when considering it. But, doing so brings the test of a new comfort level.

We’ve been apart for a long time now. It’s been over 8 years. We’ve been apart far longer than we ever were together. And I’m happy to see her happy. But, it is a bit of a trip to see her post a picture of her young daughter. I can see that she has her father’s eyes (yes, I do know her father). She’s a beautiful little girl. But, the part I’m tripping over right now is that had we stayed together, this little girl wouldn’t have existed.

When we were together, we talked about having another child (she has a son from a previous relationship). We even talked about having a daughter. It just never happened. It was probably for the best, since the relationship was already on the rocks.

Oh, life. You do throw the amazing curve ball, don’t you.

*I predict the ex-girlfriend laughing at my use of the word “tripping”

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

