Colorado “boy” wants to join Girl Scouts

Colorado’s NBC affiliate 9News recently aired a segment about a local boy who wants to join the girl scouts. The story was presented in a kind and sensitive manner. And I applaud that. I’m of two minds though, about calling ‘him” a boy. Link to story and video

My first reaction is that this is television news and they are, of course, trying to be sensationalistic. Why not use female pronouns? I don’t know if the child lives full time. It’s not clear in the story. This is just a guess, but I suspect that since the child is only 7 years old, the family is treating this as exploration. But, it certainly appears as this child definitely sees herself as female.

When I first saw a tweet by the reporter of the story, I suspected that the Girl Scouts wouldn’t allow her to join. And initially, that is the way it went down with the troop leader. But, when approached about the story, Girl Scouts of Colorado issued the following statement:

“Girl Scouts is an inclusive organization and we accept all girls in Kindergarten through 12th grade as members. If a child identifies as a girl and the child’s family presents her as a girl, Girl Scouts of Colorado welcomes her as a Girl Scout.”

 

Good for Girl Scouts of Colorado for being inclusive and understanding with this matter.

As more and more children are identified as transgender or questioning at younger ages, this issue will have to be addressed. I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the support of family and friends over the last year when it comes to my transition. But, the responses I’ve been getting tend to go down the “It’s your life. Do what you see fit.” road. That doesn’t address the issue entirely. People are born this way. And until we can talk about that, kids will still face enormous hurdles in acceptance. But, I still have to admit that we, as a society, have come a long way in a very short period of time.

I wish Bobby and her mom luck with the Girl Scouts. When I was her age, I wanted to be a Girl Scout as well. I’m sorry I never spoke up.

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Colorado, Gender Stuff, NotAboutFamily and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colorado “boy” wants to join Girl Scouts

  1. takelifebythehand says:

    I see the point if girls can join scout why cant boys join girl scouts 9 guides) ? ”takelifebythehand”

Leave a Reply

