First snowfall of the season

Although the weather will get warmer after today, it’s fair to say summer is probably over now in Colorado. Starting last night, we got our first snowfall. And with it, was an extended power outage. I rode home through some of it last night. But, hit the brunt of it today.

Last night, I had to ride through some rain. By the time I got home, I was completely drenched. I ended up ducking into a McDonalds to warm up for a little while. During the last mile, it started snowing. And by the time I got home, I was completely drenched. I took off my shoes just inside the garage and immediately headed for the shower to warm up. After thawing out in the shower, I got some oatmeal and dug out the old space heater I inherited from my parents.

I laid in bed chatting online with a friend before she disappeared. After a few minutes, she sent me a Twitter DM stating that the power went out at her house. So, I decided to go to sleep myself. But, before I did, I remembered to plug in my phone. Just as I was about to fall asleep, the power went out. There wasn’t much I could do about that. So, I continued with my plans to drift off to sleep.

I remember a brief second or two early in the morning hearing my fan come back on. But, I didn’t actually get out of bed for another hour or so. When I did eventually look out the window, I saw that the roads appeared to be clear. So, yay no bus. I then went ahead with digging out my winter gear:

* Long Pants

* Winter gloves

* Sweatshirt

* Jacket

* Sweat pants to wear under long pants

* Balaclava

* Boots

And out to the garage I headed. I got some strange looks from a few drivers. I don’t care. I’m not the one paying for gas, insurance, car payment, maintenance, etc. Besides, the need for different tires and maybe a full on mountain bike, I know that I’ll have to get some clear shop type glasses from Home Depot. I had a hard time looking out at the road ahead of me due to the blowing snow in my face. Sunglasses were great in the summer. And I probably would be wearing them today, but they broke a couple of days ago. I also am over due for getting new brake pads and I need to tighten a few spokes up front.

I might also get a pannier or two for carrying the extra jacket or two. It’s a pain to either wear or stuff a jacket into my backpack during a warm day when I know I won’t need it until the ride home at the end of the day.

My inner Southern Californian has always dreaded the first snowfall of the season. But, once it gets here, it really doesn’t bother me. And once I’m on the bike, it doesn’t matter what the weather is like. I love it.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

