Not Breaking the Law, Not Breaking the Law

After two construction workers screwed up their communication, I was pulled over on my bike by a police officer who was observing in a nearby parking lot. Thankfully, the officer conceded that he had probably seen things wrong.

While riding through the outskirts of Wheat Ridge today, I approached a construction zone where the street was reduced to one lane. Being the traffic obeying bike rider that I am, I stopped in front of the man holding the stop sign. Traffic stopped at both sides while a man in one of those small little bull dozer things ventured into the one open lane. Then, the guy at the other end let his traffic through. I waited patiently and talked with the guy at my end. I wasn’t in a hurry. While standing there, I thought I was the first in line and that there must be cars behind me. But, a quick look back confirmed that there wasn’t anyone behind me.

Once his traffic had passed us and he stopped more cars, I was allowed to proceed. I started riding in the lane available. But, then noticed that the guy at the other end was starting to let more traffic through. To avoid a head on collision, I moved to the inside of the cones and made sure I wasn’t in the way of the construction workers. After crossing into the other side of the cones,  I passed an officer with the Wheat Ridge Police Department who was watching from a parking lot across the street. I shook my head and thought that he would definitely pull me over. As I passed the other flagger, I told him the other guy let me go. He apologized. But, sure enough. Just as I’m starting to get going again, I hear a quick chirp from a police car. I looked behind me to see the same officer from the parking lot behind me with his lights on.

I pulled over, dismounted my bike and took off my helmet. Once the officer was out of his car, I told him that the guy on my side of traffic had let me go. And asked the officer to please go ask him. The officer said that he saw the sign on my end say stop. I thought about it for a second and then replied with “If you were between us and you saw ‘Stop’, doesn’t that mean that the traffic on my end was seeing ‘Slow’?” He smirked and said “Good Point”. He asked for my ID and I already had my wallet out and handed him my driver’s license. He wrote down my name in his notebook and spoke my name and license number into the radio and said something about me being the “last one”. I guess his quota was filled for the day. He then handed me my license back.

Once he had put his notebook away and I had my wallet put away, he pulled out a business card and handed it too me. He said “I probably saw things wrong. Have a nice day.” Thank you Patrol Officer K.Weimer for being professional, courteous and completely reasonable. Stay safe out there.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

