Transgender Day of Remembrance

For the first time in several years, I’ll be attending Denver’s contribution to the Transgender Day of Remembrance. It’s a very solumn ceremony remembering transgender people killed for being themselves over the past year. It’s held every year in November all around the world. It’s usually held sometime this week. Although, most cities mark it on November 20th. Information can be found here.

From the site, the purpose of Transgender Day of Remembrance is described as:

“The Transgender Day of Remembrance serves several purposes. It raises public awareness of hate crimes against transgender people, an action that current media doesn’t perform. Day of Remembrance publicly mourns and honors the lives of our brothers and sisters who might otherwise be forgotten. Through the vigil, we express love and respect for our people in the face of national indifference and hatred. Day of Remembrance reminds non-transgender people that we are their sons, daughters, parents, friends and lovers. Day of Remembrance gives our allies a chance to step forward with us and stand in vigil, memorializing those of us who’ve died by anti-transgender violence.”

This year, 22 people will be remembered.

The last and only time I went was more than 5 years ago. At the time, it was held at a church downtown. I didn’t have control of my social anxiety. But, I had tried to attend support group meetings at the G.I.C. Upon leaving, a couple of women saw me and one asked if I was the same person who had made attempts to walk into the GIC. I’m sure they probably had the right person. But, at the time, I couldn’t admit it. So, I said no.

This year, the service will be held at:

Jefferson Unitarian Church

14350 W. 32nd Ave.

Golden, CO 80401

Time: 7:00pm

 

Google Map:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Jefferson+Unitarian+Church,+14350+W.+32nd+Avenue,+Golden,+CO+80401-1563&aq=0&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=39.184175,66.884766&vpsrc=6&ie=UTF8&hq=Jefferson+Unitarian+Church,+14350+W.+32nd+Avenue,+Golden,+CO+80401-1563&hnear=&radius=15000&t=h&ll=39.761111,-105.16&spn=0.017814,0.032659&z=14&iwloc=A&cid=9886639556235226277&output=embed
View Larger Map

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.