Live Life Like There Is No Tomorrow

There have been many reminders that we should all live life to it’s fullest. Whether it’s an accident or a disease, you don’t know when your going to go. This morning, I found out someone I look up too has breast cancer. I’ve never met Xeni Jardin. But, in a way, I know her. Not only is she a co-editor for Boing Boing, she also practically lives online. She’s a prolific blogger, twitterer, and photo poster. I love her perspective and the many things she writes about. She’s a strong woman. She’s the kind of woman I see myself becoming. This mornings post about how she found out about her cancer was pure Xeni. It was carefully written. But, it also detailed out everything she was going through along with the accompanying feelings going through her head.
 I’ve only known two people who have had breast cancer. It’s always a good idea to use an occasion like this to encourage a woman you know to get her mammogram. Xeni is younger than the age at which it’s suggested to get a first mammogram. But, one of the other people I’ve known to get it was below that threshold as well. Cancer doesn’t give a frack about your age. Get it done! Knowledge is everything. 
 I’ve had relatives die of cancer. But, over the last couple of years, as I have come to terms with my own personal acceptance, I’ve noticed other people I care about who have been diagnosed with diseases and some others who have died. Not only have I been thinking about my age. It’s not only the fact that I couldn’t go on like this any longer. But, it’s also my own mortality. We’re all going to go one day. It all comes down to how we deal with today. There is no tomorrow. I don’t want to have regrets when it’s my time. 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

