Christmas Eve and Mrs. Miller

Since it was Christmas Eve, we closed up shop at 9pm. Wow. That last hour was hell. We had a lot of pick ups. I ended up leaving just after 10pm. 
 
Upon getting home, I took a shower and went straight to bed. I opened up Netflix, attached the headphones and hunted for something to get me through the night. Without even consciously thinking about it, I ended up in a good place. 
 
I’m a science fiction fan. But, even if a good science fiction story is devoid of any good character development, it’s lost me. And being the good SCI-FI fan that I am, I love the Stargate tv show and it’s spin offs. As I laid down and pulled the covers over my tired and cold body, I was thinking about watching an old episode of Stargate SG-1. Something classic with Richard Dean Anderson, perhaps. But instead, I opened up Stargate Atlantis. I flicked my finger along the glass of the iPad looking for a good episode to watch. And suddenly, there it was. 
 
Season 3, Episode 8: “McKay and Mrs. Miller”
 
It’s not the first time I’ve been on this ride. But, it was the first time that I went there without consciously planning it. 
 
One of the main characters in Stargate Atlantis is Dr. Rodney McKay. A rather obnoxious, but sometimes funny man who knows he’s smarter than everyone in the room. The story in this particular episode centered around the discovery of a math proof by McKay’s equally intelligent sister, Jeannie Miller. The math proof finds its way into the hands of the U.S. Air Force where her brother works. It’s something McKay’s been working on for sometime. And he needs to convince her to sign an non disclosure agreement so she can help them solve a problem. Only thing is, she won’t do it. And the two siblings haven’t spoken to each other in four years. 
 
McKay didn’t think she made the right call, giving up her academic pursuits to be a stay at home mom. From the moment he shows up at her door, the bickering starts. It takes the entire episode for the situation to resolve itself. At the end, *SPOILER ALERT* McKay ends up giving her sister a hug and asks if she’s happy. She says yes. And there you go. A little bit of understanding between siblings. 
 
What’s even cooler, is the fact that both actors who play Rodney McKay and Mrs. Miller are actual brother and sister. 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

