The Meaning of the Middle Finger

Early this morning, I read this entry from tech journalist MG Siegler about how Google deleted his profile picture on Google+ because it’s a picture of him flipping off the camera. But, this post isn’t about MG’s use of his middle finger. It’s about a revelation of mine in relation to it. 
 
While eating lunch about an hour ago, I was listening to Leo Laporte and Jeff Jarvis record the podcast This Week in Google. Leo Laporte brought up the controversy MG Siegler sparked with his middle finger. But, he also mentioned that the gesture of the middle finger is a representation of male genetalia. While eating my chicken fajita bowl at my local Chipotle, I stopped upon hearing this and put down my fork. I had never heard this before and it had never occured to me. I literally thought “Ohhhhhhhhhh. Well, that makes sense.”
 
I don’t know why it never occured to me before. I don’t usually think about sexual topics. My mind just doesn’t go there. 
 
The next time I get flipped off, It will mean so much more to me. Yeah. 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

