The Down Side To Being a Bike Commuter

I think it’s been about 3 weeks since I got sick. I’ve stopped keeping track. I felt a scratch in my throat for about a week before it finally developed into a full blown sinus infection and full on guttural throat cough. About a week into it, I started seeing people around me with similar symptoms. No, I don’t think I gave it to them.

I took the medicines I was supposed to take. I got the rest I needed. But, what I noticed very quickly was that the same people who were sick around the same time, were getting well. There’s only one real explanation. They don’t ride a bike every where they go.

When I got rid of my car almost 18 months ago, I knew I would be in the elements more. But, I thought I was ready for it. I often do my winter riding with two sweat shirts on and a much heavier jacket on top of that. I have proper head covering. And I have big heavy ski gloves. I have a balaclava I can cover most of my face if I have too. But, I mostly use it just to cover my mouth. But, the cold air still gets in.

I know it’s not the cold air by itself that got me sick. There was something hibernating in my system. And it was the cold air and heavy breathing as I rode that allowed my system to give this bug what it needed.

I tried to ride the bus as much as possible. But, that’s not always practical. Even if I ride the bus, I’ll often have to walk or ride about a mile to the house. So, being out in the elements at least part of the time is inevitable.

I’m just now getting over it. I’m only occasionally coughing. And I’m blowing my nose only sporadically. My voice sounds more normal than it has in weeks.

Do I regret going without a car this winter? Not on your life! Even the thought of a protracted illness isn’t enough to get me back in a car. Besides, we’re almost done with winter. If I’ve gone this long, I can last until the temps warm up and the trees bloom.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Bike, Bike commuting, NotAboutFamily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

