Accidental Trust In Humanity

Last week, while at group, I accidentally left my bike unlocked. Thankfully, it was still there when I came to fetch it afterwards.

I got to there a little early last week. And I needed to call my mom about something. So, I parked the bike and intentionally left it unlocked while I grabbed my phone and sat on the retaining wall next to the bike rack.

I was on the phone with her for about 30 minutes. Just before the connection dropped, a friend and fellow trans person walked up with her bike. As my friend locked her bike up, we talked. She started walking toward the front door. But, I went to go get a lemonade from a shop across the street.

The first thing I ALWAYS do when parking my bike is lock it. But, apparently not always. You’d think I’d be more careful. This is my only mode of transportation. And it’s been about a year since my Cannondale was stolen.

After getting my lemonade, I headed inside. The meeting was great. Afterwards, as my friend and I headed to the bike rack, I looked down and saw that my lock was still folded up in it’s storage spot on the frame. Even nearly a week later, I’m disappointed in myself and stunned that it was still there.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

