The Results Are In.

Last week, I received two letter from the V.A. Hospital where I had my blood draw. One detailed what my cholesterol levels were. The other, my H.I.V. status.

When my doctor said he wanted to do an H.I.V. test as part of my blood workup, I objected. I’ve never been tested. Well, not that I know of. I don’t know if I was tested in the Navy. But, I was a virgin up until the age of 27. And since then, I’ve only had one sexual partner. And the last time we shared the same bed was nearly a decade ago. And honestly, I didn’t want more blood taken out than was absolutely necessary.

So, while I objected, he must have hit the check mark that read “yes”. Maybe since trans people are honorary members of the LGBT club, he assumed it was a good idea. And I suppose it’s good to know anyway. I just didn’t see the need to pay for the extra test.

Oh. What was the result? Did I pass the test? Yeah, I’m H.I.V. negative. Big surprise there. If it had been positive, I would be making a trip up to the mountains to have a face to face sit down with the ex-girlfriend.

H.I.V. testing is a very good thing. It’s good to know your status. Especially if your sexually active. I think it’s great that the LGBT Center offers free testing every so often. And you should always use protection. I don’t want my objections to come off as being anti-testing. I just didn’t see the need.

Oh. And my cholesterol levels are high. I need to do more work on improving what I eat.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

