A Kernel Of Hope

My earlier post about suicide was really depressing. I’m not completely lacking of hope. It’s just that it sometimes overwhelms me.

There is a small kernel of hope in the back of my brain. It’s growing like a small seedling. I have to keep reminding myself of the small little steps I’ve taken in the right direction.

Over a year ago, I was deep in frustration about not being able to walk into The local LGBT Center. But, I eventually did. Once I did, I found many friends who know exactly what I’m going through. That led to rekindling a friendship with one of the first trans people I met. Last year, I came out to a network of local friends who provided so much encouragement, that it can be overwhelming to think about. Doing that, gave me the support to come out to friends and extended family on Facebook. While I did lose some friends when I came out, I’ve gained so much more from both friends and family by doing so. And the confidence in being more honest with myself has helped in my daily life.

I still have many challenges. No doubt about that. But, like a friend is quick to tell me, you don’t consume an elephant in one sitting.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

