Yeah, It Does That

For my new job, I had to find a car. Well, more specifically a truck. I’m renting my parent’s Chevy Blazer. And it has a few problems.

Before I picked it up, I had driven it. I knew it had a few little quirks. Like, the driver’s side door sticks. But, then after driving it for a few days, I called my parent’s house to ask if they knew when it had it’s last oil change. This is part of the conversation I had with my mom.

Me: “What prompted me to call about the oil change was the check engine light that came on.”

Mom: “Oh yeah, it does that. It will go off in a couple of days.”

Me: “Oh…….ok. I hope it’s nothing then.”

Mom: “Most likely not.”

Me: “Before I picked it up, I knew about the driver’s door sticking. But, you didn’t tell me that the driver’s window not going down.”

Mom: “Oh yeah, it does that. It will eventually start working again.”

Me: “okay. And the air conditioning doesn’t work at all. Right?”

Mom: “Yeah, it doesn’t work. But, the other windows go down.”

Me: “Oh, yeah. I don’t mind not having A/C. I just like putting the windows down if it doesn’t work.”

Mom: “Like I said. Just keep trying the driver’s side window. It will eventually start working again.”

Me: “Okay.”

Now, let me be clear. I’m very glad to have this car to use. Mechanically, the engine is sound. It runs great for a 1998. And it has 157,000 miles on it. My parent’s bought it used to have a truck that is capable of towing jet skis and it doesn’t hurt having a 4 wheel drive truck in Colorado. But, these little quirks are making me laugh.

There’s clearly an electrical problem. Other dash lights come on and then, later in the day will go off. And today, the passenger window went down and won’t go back up. When I picked up the truck last weekend, I had to pull on the driver’s door inside latch three times before it would open. Now, it takes a minimum of five pulls and pushes of my shoulder before it will cooperate.

Something tells me my desire to go without a car won’t be the only reason I’ll be glad to hand this beast back to my parents by the end of the summer.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

