Trans on OutFront Cover

I had seen the free local gay paper sitting in the lobby of the Denver GLBT Center for the last two weeks. But, I hadn’t picked it up yet. As I was on my way out Monday afternoon after volunteer orientation, I finally picked up a copy.

I just finished reading it in a public place (You are now free to express shock).

I’ve seen Out Front, as it’s called, before. But, since I’m not gay, I’ve never thought about reading it. What made me pick it up today was the cover. Three trans people (One MTF and two FTM’s) standing in t-shirts that read “Legalize Trans*” with the headline “Beyond the binary: A new trans narrative. You can find the main article here.

It’s a great read. Although you can read the main article online. I’d highly recommend picking up a print copy if you can. That way you can read a piece by the editor about how this issue was a learning journey for them. And further inside is an interview with The Center’s Transgender Programs coordinator, Courtney Gray about the upcoming transgender job fair.

If transgender as a concept is hard for you to grasp, I highly recommend this article. In it, they do a good job educating while also writing about the lives of three local transgender people.

Last minute edit: I found a link to their digital edition of the entire issue.

 

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in NotAboutFamily, Transgender and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

